Celebrating Retriever Achievements

Published: Oct 18, 2022

New 2022 Hall of Fame members pose together in gold stoles
The 2022 Hall of Fame inductees. (Marlayna Demond '11/UMBC)

The weeks around Homecoming offer multiple ways for the UMBC community to reconnect with our Retriever pride and celebrate the accomplishments of our amazing alumni. Two marquee events during this time are the UMBC Athletic Hall of Fame Induction and Alumni Awards ceremonies.

Athletics’ legacy of excellence

The UMBC Athletics Hall of Fame first launched in the 1970s and was later made an annual ceremony in 1990. This celebratory event recognizes UMBC community members for their athletic excellence and contribution to the university. To date, 129 members have been enshrined. And this year, Brian Barrio, UMBC Director of Athletics, made a key change, moving the popular event to Homecoming weekend to capitalize on the #RetrieverNation excitement.

“We are thrilled that the Athletics Hall of Fame has been moved to the Homecoming weekend, and grateful to UMBC’s Office of Alumni Engagement who have been great partners in the re-launch of this event,” says Barrio. After postponing the event for two years due to COVID 19, says Barrio, Athletics is eager to celebrate their community. “This class is a diverse and talented group that set high standards of excellence for Retriever Nation.” 

The 22nd edition of the Hall of Fame inductions took place on Friday, October 7, in UMBC’s Skylight Room honoring:

  • Steve Levy ’85, interdisciplinary studies—associate director of Athletics/director of athletic communications, 1986 – present
  • Dana Eberly Keiner ’97, biological sciences—volleyball, 1993 – 1996
  • Jean Salkeld Battista ’98, sociology—softball, 1997 – 1998
  • Mohamed Hussein ’14, mechanical engineering, M.S. ’17, systems engineering—swimming, 2011 – 2014
  • Levi Houapeu ’15, financial economics—men’s soccer, 2007 – 2010
  • Mercedes Jackson ’15, psychology—track and field, 2011 – 2015)
A family dressed in black and white and gold poses together behind a dinner table
Steve Levy ’85 and his family at the Hall of Fame induction. (Marlayna Demond ’11/UMBC)

Recognizing alumni excellence 

Later in October, UMBC will celebrate another cadre of Retrievers at the 2022 Alumni Awards, hosted by the UMBC Alumni Association Board of Directors. This year’s ceremony and reception takes place on Thursday, October 27, at 6:30 p.m. in UMBC’s Earl and Darielle Linehan Concert Hall.

“This is one of my favorite events because it brings the UMBC community together in such a beautiful way,” says Stanyell Odom, Director of Alumni Engagement. “We are proud to continue to support the Alumni Association and its board of directors in this annual celebration of excellence.”

Brian Frazee (Marlayna Demond ’11/UMBC)

Three different types of awards are given to alumni during the ceremony: Outstanding Alumni of the Year awards (by major or field affiliation), Distinguished Service, and Rising Star (Young Alumni). The alumni board also recognizes one Outstanding Faculty member who has demonstrated commitment to student success beyond the classroom.

“The UMBC Alumni Association Board of Directors is excited to honor our 2022 Alumni Award winners,” says Brian Frazee ’11, political science, M.P.P. ’12. “This year’s honorees represent the very best of our alumni community, and their contributions are making a difference all over the world.”

This year’s awardees are: 

  • Dr. Josiah Dykstra, Ph.D. ’13, computer scienceOutstanding Alumnus in Engineering & Information Technology
  • Dr. Karsonya ‘Kaye’ Wise Whitehead, Ph.D. ’09, language, literacy and culture—  Outstanding Alumna in the Humanities
  • Dr. Joy Haley, Ph.D. ’01, chemistryOutstanding Alumna in Natural & Mathematical Sciences
  • Dr. Keith Elder, Ph.D. ’02, health policy, policy sciencesOutstanding Alumnus in Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • McKenzie Chinn ’06, theatreOutstanding Alumna in Visual & Performing Arts
  • Benjamin Garmoe ’13, political scienceDistinguished Service
  • Stefanie Mavronis ’12, media and communication studies, political scienceRising Star
  • Dr. Carolyn Forestiere, Professor of Political Science—Outstanding Faculty

Learn more about the 2022 Alumni Award winners and register for the event

Tags: , , , ,

Share this Story
Scroll to Top