UMBC logo

Current Scholars

Information button

Information for current scholars

Undergraduate Research Awards for 2013-2014 have been awarded for 50 student research projects involving 54 students in disciplines and departments across campus. The funded research projects are being conducted in American Studies, Anthropology, Biochemistry, Bioinformatics, Biological Sciences, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Engineering, Computer Science, Dance, Health Administration and Public Policy, History, Interdisciplinary Studies, Mathematics, Media and Communications, Music, Political Science, Physics, Psychology, Theatre, and Visual Arts. Feel free to read the abstracts that summarize each research project, and mark your calendars to attend Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement Day on Wednesday, April 23, 2014 to see these students present their research findings.

Click the names below to read individual abstracts

Fadaka Adebayo, Health Administration and Public Policy
Aymen Alqazzaz, Biological Sciences
Michael Berlin, Computer Science
Shayna Blank, Interdisciplinary Studies
Matthew Brewster, Mathematics
Susanna Campbell, Biological Sciences
Sergiu Costinas, Biological Sciences
Christine Cruz, History and Political Science
Steven Dakermanji, Chemistry
Beshaun Davis, Psychology
Stephen DiBenedetto, Computer Engineering
David Eisen, Computer Engineering
Mabelle Fomundam, Theatre
Ian Forsythe, Anthropology and Applied Linguistics
Zoe Gensheimer, Visual Arts
Sanchari Ghosh, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Kaitlyn Golden, Psychology
Samantha Hawkins, Anthropology and INDS
Nicholas Heroux, Psychology
Mary Hester, Dance and Interdisciplinary Studies
Emily Hinz, Music
Dalton Hughes, Hollie Adejumo, Madison Bondoc, and Chris Mullen, Chemical Engineering
Hannah Jones, History
Ki Jung, Biological Sciences
Caroline Jurney, Theatre
Sam Kott, Psychology
Sekar Kulandaivel, Computer Engineering
Robbin Lee, Media and Communications
Behnam Majd, Biological Sciences
Oleg Makarevich, Biological Sciences
Rajashree Mishra, Bioinformatics
Fiona Moodie, Political Science
Uchenna Okoro, Biochemistry
Tosin Oyeleke, Chemical Engineering
John Papanikos, Biological Sciences
Talmo Pereira, Biochemistry
Timothy Pillsbury, Physics and Mathematics
Bradley Potteiger, Computer Engineering
Alec Pulianas, Computer Engineering
Valerie Quackenbush, INDS
Rosalind Ramsey, Chemical Engineering
Nicholas Rogers, Chemical Engineering
David Rivas, Physics
Sebastian Snowberger, Chemical Engineering
Thanhlong Tran, Biological Sciences
Phoebe Tsoi, Biochemistry
Kathy Vu, Psychology
Paul Weisko, Political Science, History
Charles White, Biological Sciences
Jennie Williams, American Studies
Kevin Zhang, Computer Engineering